CONFERENCE PROGRAM

The conference theme examines the unanticipated consequences of interactive marketing in today’s world of rapid technological innovation, artificial intelligence, and the Internet of Things. Participants will examine these unanticipated consequences, and provide thought leadership as to how consumers, firms and/or policy makers should respond.

Marketing EDGE’s Journal of Interactive Marketing serves as a catalyst for identifying issues and shaping ideas associated with the expanding electronic, interactive, and direct marketing environments. We publish leading-edge, high-quality and original results, methodologies, theories, concepts, models and applications on any aspect of interactive marketing.

Please note that all conference times listed are in United States Eastern Time and Greenwich Mean Time.

REGISTER FOR THE CONFERENCERegistered Attendees click here for the attendee program, which includes Zoom links, pre-recorded presentations, and presentation slides.

If you’re registered and haven’t received or have lost the password, please contact swurster@marketingedge.org.

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 28

Plenary

11 a.m. EDT to 11:10 a.m.

3 p.m. GMT to 3:10 p.m.

Welcome and Opening

Terri Bartlett (CEO & President of Marketing EDGE

Live Stream

11:10 a.m. EDT to 11:20 a.m.

3:10 p.m. GMT to 3:20 p.m.

Introduction to the Conference and Special Issue

Caroline Wiertz & Charles Hofacker (IMRC 2020 Co-Chairs)

Live Stream

11:20 a.m. EST to 11:35 a.m.

3:20 p.m. GMT to 3:35 p.m.

Journal of Interactive Marketing®

Arvind Rangaswamy (JIM Co-Editor)

Live Stream

Parallel Session 1a: (Un)Anticipated Consequences of Social Media for Consumers

Session Chair: Janina Steinmetz

Parallel Session 1b: (Un)Anticipated Consequences of Digital Marketing for News Consumption

Session Chair: Charles Hofacker

11:35 a.m. EDT to 11:45 a.m.

3:35 p.m. GMT to 3:45 p.m.

Disassembling Online Trolling: Towards the Better Understanding and Managing of Online Mischief-Making Consumer Misbehaviours

Maja Golf Papez & Ekant Veer

Do Ads Harm News Consumption?

Shunyao Yan, Klaus Miller, & Bernd Skiera

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

11:45 a.m. EDT to 11:55 a.m.

3:45 p.m. GMT to 3:55 p.m.

An Unanticipated Response to Envy in Online Settings

Ana Suárez Vázquez, Manuel Chica Serrano, Ana Belén del Río Lanza, & Leticia Suárez Álvarez

Linking Customer Value to Brand Value

Bobby J. Calder, Edward C. Malthouse, & Yayu Zhou

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

11:55 a.m. EDT to 12:05 p.m.

3:55 p.m. GMT to 4:05 p.m.

Social Media Chatter: Unintended Consequences for Consumer Confidence –

Maria Petrescu, Dawn Iacobucci, Anjala S. Krishen, & Sheen Kachen

Clickbait Impedes Sharing of Online Content

Prithwiraj Mukherjee, Souvik Dutta and Arnaud De Bruyn

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

12:05 p.m. EDT to 12:15 p.m.

4:05 p.m. GMT to 4:15 p.m.

Unanticipated Consequences of Virtual Support Communities: A Multimethod Study of Social Diagnoses and Social Anxieties

Ana Babic Rosario, Cristel Antonia Russell, & Doreen E. Shanahan

Examining the (Un)Anticipated Effects of Unfinished Teasers on Consumers’ Purchases and Consumption

Gerrit Cziehso, Ann-Kristin Kupfer, & Tobias Schäfers

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

12:15 p.m. EDT to 12:45 p.m.

4.15 p.m. GMT to 4:45 p.m.

Reception Live Stream

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 29

Plenary

Session Chair: Caroline Wiertz

9 a.m. EDT to 9:40 a.m.

1 p.m. GMT to 1:40 p.m.

KEYNOTE Marketing Utopia or Marketing Dystopia?

Klaus Wertenbroch (INSEAD)

Live Stream

9:45 a.m. EDT to 9:55 a.m.

1:45 p.m. BST to 1:55 p.m.

Online community participation: A meta-analysis on the drivers and outcomes

Jing Niu & Kristine De Valck

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

9:55 a.m. EDT to 10:05 a.m.

1:55 p.m. GMT to 2:05 p.m.

Performativity and the Materiality of Sound: Exploring the Evolution of TikTok in Digital Consumer Culture

Jenna Drenten

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

10:05 a.m. EDT to 10:15 a.m.

2:05 p.m. GMT to 2:15 p.m.

The Effect of the Digitization of Community Activities on Participation Intentions: Evidence from Meetup.com

Martina Pocchiari & Jason M.T. Roos

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

10:15 a.m. EDT to 10:25 a.m.

2:15 p.m. GMT to 2:25 p.m.

Consumers Opt for Crowdfunded Products to Reduce Inequality in the Marketplace

Oguz Ali Acar, Darren Dahl, Christoph Fuchs, & Martin Schreier

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

10:25 a.m. EDT to 10:55 a.m.

2:25 p.m. GMT to 2:55 p.m.

Awards Ceremony Live Stream

11:00 a.m. EDT to 11:40 a.m.

3 p.m. GMT to 3.40 p.m.

KEYNOTE Psychologically Microtargeted Marketing: How Could It Work and Does It?

David Stilwell

Live Stream

11:40 a.m. EDT  to 12:40 p.m.

3:40 p.m. GMT to 4:40 p.m.

PRACTITIONER KEYNOTE Outlook for the Use of Identity in Marketing and Advertising

Bruce Biegel

Live Stream

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 30

Parallel Session 2a: (Un)Anticipated Consequences of C2C Interactions and Brands Online of Social Media for Consumers

Session Chair: Daniela Cristian

Parallel Session 2b: (Un)Anticipated Consequences of Digital Marketing for Comms & Customer Acquisition

Session Chair: Sabrina Gottschalk

Noon EDT to 12:10 p.m.

4 p.m. GMT to 4:10 p.m.

(No) Offense Taken: Value Creation vs Value Destruction By Brand-Offended Consumers

Lauren Labrecque, Ereni Markos, & Mujde Yuksel

Silently Killing Your Customers One Email at a Time: The True Cost of Email Solicitations

Alina Ferecatu, Arnaud de Bruyn, & Prithwiraj Mukherjee

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

12:10 p.m. EDT to 12:20 p.m.

4:10 p.m. GMT to 4:20 p.m.

The Influence of Online Complaints on Third Party Consumers

Alexander Mafael, Sascha Raithel, Maximilian Hausmann, Antje Niemann, & Manfred Schwaiger

The Value of Third Party Platforms in Customer Acquisition: An Empirical Investigation into the Hospitality Industry

Agata Leszkiewicz, Sarang Sunder, V. Kumar, & Chekitan Dev

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

12:20 p.m. EDT to 12:30 p.m.

4:20 p.m. GMT to 4:30 p.m.

I Am Not What I Like: The Unintended Consequences of Endorsing Brands on Social Media

Stefan Bernritter, Anniek Eigenraam, & Peeter Verlegh

Does TV Advertising Increase Online Sales? The Role of Intertemporal Substitution

Xu Zhang, Anja Lambrecht, & Catherine Tucker

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A
Plenary

12:35 p.m. EDT to 12:55 p.m.

4:35 p.m. GMT to 4:55 p.m.

Augmented Reality and the Self

Ana Javornik, Marta Pizzetti, Ben Marder, & Luk Warlop

Live Stream
Roundtables

1 p.m. EDT to 1:20 p.m.

5 p.m. GMT to 5:20 p.m.

Blessing or Curse: The Paradoxical Impact of Mobile Health Applications on the Consumer

Vera Blazevic, Csilla Horvath, & Lisa Klintwort

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

Online Privacy and Consumers’ Financial Decisions

Joris Demmers, Benedict Dellaert, & Kristian Rotaru

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

Out of Control: Choice Architecture on Data Consent Banners

Georgina Herrera & Luciana Velloso

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 4

Plenary

8:20 a.m. EST to 8:40 EST

1:20 p.m. GMT to 1:40 p.m.

Social Media Consumption and Psychological Wellbeing

Cammy Crolic, Andrew Stephen, Peter Pal Zubcsek, & Gillian Brooks

Live Stream

8:45 a.m. EST to 9:25 a.m.

1:45 p.m. GMT to 2:25 p.m.

KEYNOTE

Algorithmic Bias

Anja Lambrecht

Live Stream
Roundtables

9:25 a.m. EST to 9:45 a.m.

2:25 p.m. GMT to 2:45 p.m.

 

She Looks Like Me! How Body Type Similarity Influences Online Clothes Shopping

Iina Ikonen & Catharina Hasselbach

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

To Post or Not to Post – Understanding Differences in Online Review Posting Behaviour

Sabrina Gottschalk, Alexander Mafael, & Jana Möller

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A
Plenary

9:50 a.m. EST to 10:10 a.m.

2:50 p.m. GMT to 3:10 p.m.

Confronting and Conquering the Dark Side of AI in Marketing

Venky Shankar

Live Stream

10:15 a.m. EST to 11:00 a.m.

3:15 p.m. GMT to 4:00 p.m.

PRACTITIONER KEYNOTE Digital Anthropology and the Consumer of Tomorrow

Jonathan Chippindale

Live Stream

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 5

10 a.m. EST to 10:20 a.m.

3 p.m. GMT to 3:20 p.m.

Fake News Sharers and News Fact-Checkers: Beyond Demographics and Ideology

Verena Schoenmueller, Simon J. Blanchard, & Gita V. Johar

Live Stream

Parallel Session 3a: Various (Un)Anticipated Consequences of Digital Marketing

Chair: Laetitia Mimoun

Parallel Session 3b: (Un)Anticipated Consequences of Influencer Marketing

Chair: Wanqing Zhang

10:25 a.m. EST to 10:35 a.m.

3:25 p.m. GMT to 3:35 p.m.

Asymmetric Consequences of Cybersecurity on Healthcare

Yiting Deng, Anja Lambrecht, & Catherine Tucker

When Influencer Marketing Gives Voice to Undesirable Actors

Mario Campana & Astrid van den Bossche

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A

10:35 a.m. EST to 10:45 a.m.

3:35 p.m. GMT to 3:45 p.m.

The Impact of Consent and Transparency Requirements On Companies and Users

Julia Schmitt, Klaus Miller, & Bernd Skiera

“Pretty Big Lies” – How Followers Respond to AI Influencers

Zixuan Cheng, Anouk de Regt, Matteo Montecchi, & Kirk Plangger

Pre-Recorded Presentation + Live Stream Q&A
Plenary

10:50 a.m. EST to 11:10 a.m.

3:50 p.m. GMT to 4:10 p.m.

An Analysis of Social Media Engagement in the Case of the 2016 US Presidential Elections

Raoul V. Kübler & Koen Pauwels

Live Stream

11:15 a.m. EST to 11:30 a.m.

4:15 p.m. GMT to 4:30 p.m.

Closing and 2021 IMRC Announcement

Caroline Wiertz & Charles Hofacker

 

Live Stream

11:30 a.m. EST …

4:30 p.m. GMT …

Reception

REGISTER FOR THE CONFERENCE